Tags

, ,

I try to post mostly about meals that are simple and stress-free.  I mean, let’s be honest, I love to cook but I’m working with on a budget (both time and money!) and I don’t like to make things difficult for myself.  I do appreciate an occasional challenge, however, and about once every year or two I attempt my grandma’s chicken paprikash and dumplings.  I feel like I make this differently every time, so bear with me.

This time, like every time, I forgot how time-consuming and messy this meal is to make and chose the night Dr. Matthews and I were babysitting our friends’ 6 month old son in addition to taking care of Natalie.  Poor Dr. Matthews ended up changing both of their diapers (multiple times) and feeding them both (which, with our friends’ son, included a bottle and two containers of baby food, which Dr. Matthews has yet to have any experience with).  He was a real trooper about it and didn’t complain once.  He was rewarded handsomely with this amazing dinner, but then had to wash the dishes:

Chicken Paprikash with Dumplings

Ingredients for Chicken Paprikash

  • 4-5lb chicken, disjointed (I used chicken thighs, which was what I had on hand.  I have actually never disjointed a chicken or purchased one this way but with skin and bones things tend to get even messier/difficult to eat so I often avoid this and go skinless/boneless)
  • 1 onion, chopped (I used 1/2 this time since the onions I had were huge)
  • Vegetable or canola oil (photo shows vegetable but I ended up using canola, just my personal preference)
  • 1 tbsp paprika (I ended up using a little more)
  • 1 tsp ground pepper
  • 2 tsp salt
  • 1 1/2 cups water
  • 1-2 cups sour cream (depending on how much gravy you want)
  • I also mixed 2 tbsp cornstarch with 1/4 cup water and added it to the gravy at the end to thicken it some)

 

I used twice this amount of sour cream shown here.

 

Directions for Chicken Paprikash

Brown onions and spices in a tablespoon oil.  Remove from pan.  In same pan, add 1-2 tablespoons more oil and brown chicken (sprinkled with paprika and salt) in batches, about 5 minutes each side (adding additional oil as needed).  It’s OK if chicken is not quite cooked through.  When done, return onions and chicken to pan and add water.  Cover and simmer for about 10 minutes, or until chicken is cooked through.  Remove chicken from pan.  Combine a few spoonfuls of gravy with sour cream in a seperate bowl to warm sour cream (this avoids curdling) before adding sour cream to gravy.  Add cornstarch and water mixture if you wish to have a thicker sauce.  Add dumplings to gravy and serve over chicken.

   
   Ingredients for Dumplings

  • 2 1/2 cups of flour, sifted
  • 3 eggs, beaten
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 2 tsp salt

Directions for Dumplings

Blend ingredients together, adding more flour if necessary to make a stiff batter (I ended up adding a bit more).  *Side note: I’ve never sifted flour before for some reason.  It made such a difference in getting the flour to be more fine and “mixable.” Drop by teaspoonfuls into boiling, salted water.  Cook 10 minutes, stirring occasionally.  Drain and rinse with water. <– This is where things get tricky for me.  It’s impossible to add all the dumplings at the same time, therefore I never know when it’s been 10 minutes.  Furthermore, the dumplings never seem to be completely done on the inside.  Further furthermore, this is a tedious and very time-consuming process that I despise.  And inevitably give up before I’ve boiled all the batter.  God bless my grandma for making all those dumplings over all those years!

   

  

 
 

Dr. Matthews handling the child care duties

 
It doesn’t seem like it from reading the directions, but this ends up being a somewhat complicated meal to prepare (at least for me- Grandma will tell you it’s NBD).  It is so worth it, though!

