Tags

, ,

Hello, faithful readers!  My sincerest apologies for the recent lack of posts.  I have been cooking, but I’ve also been busy enjoying the outdoors during my favorite season, spending time with friends and family, and staring at this face:

  
And, OMG, those feet ❤

I want to share with you one of the meals a friend brought us during our “just-had-a-baby-and-can-barely-manage-to-shower-much-less-prepare-food” phase: cheesy enchilada casserole.  Honestly, I’m not sure why they added “enchilada” to the title, since there is no enchilada sauce in the recipe.  They could really have just called it “cheesy Mexican casserole.”  But I digress.  I made it for some friends who visited over Labor Day weekend and they have made it twice since then.  So obviously, it’s good!

Cheesy Enchilada Mexican Casserole

Servings: 8

Ingredients

  • 1lb lean ground beef (I’be been told ground turkey works just as well)
  • 1 large onion, chopped
  • 2 1/2 cups salsa (I used about 4 cups)
  • 1 15oz can black beans, drained and rinsed
  • 1/4 cup reduced-fat Italian salad dressing (I thought this was an odd ingredient and therefore did not add it)
  • 2tbsp reduced-sodium taco seasoning
  • 1/4tsp ground cumin
  • 6 8-inch flour or corn tortillas (I used corn- I find they get less soggy when used in a casserole)
  • 1 small can corn, drained
  • 3/4 cup sour cream
  • 2 cups shredded mexican blend cheese (I used about 3 cups)
  • lettuce, tomato and cilantro for topping (optional)
  • tortilla chips for scooping!

 

Excuse the funny color of the meat- I promise it wasn’t expired and didn’t smell funny!

 
Directions

In a large skillet, brown beef.  Remove and drain.  In same skillet, saute onion until soft.

Return meat to skillet and add salsa, beans, corn, dressing, cumin, taco seasoning and sour cream.

Spoon a generous layer of meat mixture on bottom of 2 quart baking dish.  Sprinkle with grated cheese.

Place a tortilla on top of meat mixture.  Layer with half the meat and more cheese.  Repeat as many layers as you like.

The final layer should be a healthy dose of grated cheese.

Cover with foil that has been sprayed with cooking spray and bake at 400 degrees for 25 minutes, or until hot and bubbly. (I removed the foil for the final 5 minutes or so.)

Let stand 5 minutes before topping with lettuce, tomato and cilantro. (We did not add these toppings but ate it with tortilla chips and additional sour cream.)

*I made this ahead of time and froze it.  When preparing from frozen, bake for approximately 90 minutes at 350 degrees.  This is a great freezer meal!

   
  

   
Enjoy!

