Tags

, ,

Doesn’t it seem like fall is the time for gathering?  It seems like we have so many social events going on lately and it is often requested that we bring along a side or dessert.  I am happy to oblige that request, especially when I can make something that would be way too much food (and calories) for just the two of us!

One of my favorite side dishes is one I got from my grandma (of course): cheesy potato casserole.  We attended a gender reveal party last week (it’s a girl!) 

and this is what I brought as a side.  I accidentally grabbed cream of mushroom soup with roasted garlic and it was the best mistake ever!

Cheesy Potato Casserole

Ingredients

1 1-lb bag frozen shredded hash browns

1 small onion, diced

1 stick unsalted butter

1 can cream of mushroom soup (with roasted garlic!)

1 cup sour cream

2 cups shredded sharp cheddar

salt and pepper to taste

Parmesan cheese to top (optional)

 

Not pictured: parmesan cheese (it was a last-minute decision to add this)

 
Directions

Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees.  Melt 1/2 stick of butter and combine with cheese, onion, sour cream, cream of mushroom soup, salt and pepper.  Break up potatoes in the bag and mix with other ingredients (my grandma puts the topping over the potatoes but I find that you get more flavor out of every bite if it’s mixed in).  Place mixture in 9×13 pan.  Melt remaining 1/2 stick butter and pour over top of potatoes.  Bake uncovered for 45 minutes.  Sprinkle parmesan cheese over top and enjoy!

  
Like I mentioned in the caption, it was a last minute decision to add the parmesan cheese and I think it really added a lot to the dish!  That, combined with the roasted garlic cream of mushroom soup really took this to the next level.  

  
I will say that one challenge I faced when preparing this was that the bowl I used to mix everything up wasn’t really big enough, so potatoes, cheese and onions kept spilling out of the sides.  I ended up using my hands to mix in order to get control over those wayward ingredients but, let me tell you, mixing frozen hash browns with bare hands is cold!  Maybe next time I’ll try mixing it up in a couple of batches, adding half the potatoes to a large bowl with half the cheese mixture, putting it in the casserole dish, then doing the second half.

