Tags

, , ,

For some reason, I’ve always been intimidated by pork shoulder.  Perhaps because it’s also referred to as “pork butt” and that just sounds unappetizing.  Perhaps it’s because it’s a pricer hunk of meat in which to invest (and possibly screw up), not to mention I had no idea what I was getting myself into as far as bones, etc.  Turns out all of my fears were unfounded, and I have now discovered an amazing source of sustenance which lasts for many, many meals and tastes delicious.  You are not married to pulled pork sandwiches, either.  I found this website with links to several amazing recipes using left over pulled pork.  So far, we’ve done BBQ sandwiches, nachos, quesadillas and pork fried rice (I did a variation of this recipe without jalepenos- Natalie does not do well when I eat too spicy – and added onions, carrots, a splash of teriyaki and soy sauce).  So.  Good.

Dr. Pepper slow cooker pulled pork

Ingredients

1 pork butt/pork shoulder roast (I got an 8 pounder on sale)

salt, pepper & garlic powder

1 onion sliced (optional) (I added this)

1 can Dr. Pepper

¾ cup barbecue sauce (or to taste)

Rolls & coleslaw for serving 

  
Directions

Place the onion in the bottom of the slow cooker. Rub the outside of the roast with salt, pepper and garlic powder.

Pour the Dr. Pepper over the pork and cook on high 4-5 hours or on low 7-8 hours. (I did some research on this and it turns out that you actually want to cook this type of meat longer to make it more tender and easier to pull.  I would have thought that it would get dried out but I cooked mine till about 185 degrees internal temperature and it was not dried out at all.  This took almost 9 hours on low.)

The meat will be very tender. Using 2 forks, shred the pork and place back in the juices. (Returning it to the juices made it pretty greasy even after spooning out some of the fat.  I’d be curious to see how this tastes with just adding some BBQ sauce and not putting it back in the pot.)

Add barbecue sauce to taste. Allow to cook an additional 30-60 minutes if desired.

Serve on crusty rolls with cole slaw if desired.

 

This monster barely fit in my slow cooker!

  

This is just a small portion of the meat

   
The meat came out juicy and tender but was not super flavorful.  This turned out to be OK since we did so many different recipes with it, we just seasoned as we went.  Turns out there is only one large bone which was easy to remove.  The meat shredded fairly easily and when I ran into some tougher pieces, I threw them in my KitchenAid and mixed them up in there.  This meat lasted us for several meals and there is still a bunch in the freezer!

  

