Tags

, ,

Oh, the joys of learning to be a mama!  Honestly, it’s mostly joy.  Who can resist this face?:

  
She also has this side grin that just melts. me. 

This process has taught me many things, one of the biggest being the importance of prioritizing!  My time is no longer my own.  But I am sort of a control freak who likes things in my home to be just so.  Internal conflict arises!  Our sweet baby is a professional cuddle bug (read: doesn’t like to be put down) so I have to decide each day, what is really a priority?

I’ve been (roughly) using this chore chart to do a little cleaning each day.  I added a few things that apply to me (cleaning cat boxes, sterilizing baby stuff) and had it laminated so I can check things off with a dry erase marker each day.  I’m a big fan of checking things off.  Multi-tasking is also key.  As I type this I am also using my breast pump and rocking Natalie Bean in her bouncer with my foot.  

I also have lots of help from a very dedicated husband and father, Dr. Matthews.  He has been a saint about helping out around the house and with the baby after work and taking over at night on the weekends.  I am one lucky mama!

As I mentioned in my last post, dinners have had to be kept simple, too.  A couple weeks ago I put together the most delicious pasta dinner from ingredients we already had (and a couple Dr. Matthews picked up):

Italian Sausage and Veggie Pasta

Makes 10 1cup servings

1/2 box spiral pasta (we had some whole wheat from Trader Joe’s already boiled.  Whole wheat does not taste good with every pasta dish, but it goes fine with this one)

1 lb spicy Italian sausage

1 jar marinara sauce

1 can diced tomatoes

1 large onion, chopped

4 cloves garlic, minced

1 large zucchini, cut into rounds, then in half (I don’t normally cook with zucchini, but a friend gave us one from her garden and it was delicious!)

handful fresh basil, julienned (optional)

grated parmesan to top

  

  • Boil pasta according to package instructions
  • Brown sausage, drain
  • Using same pan, saute onions, garlic and zucchini.  Be careful not to overcook the zucchini!
  • Combine pasta, meat, veggies, tomatoes (with juice) and marinara.  Heat through.
  • Serve topped with basil and parmesan

 

This meat-browning tool is very helpful!

 
  
For some reason this meal just really hit the spot.  Dr. Matthews and I have really been enjoying spicy Italian sausage, but you can use ground beef, chicken, or just add more vegetables if you want to make it vegetarian.  This dinner was prepared in no time and is suprisingly healthy, given it’s magnitude of flavor!
 

Per 1 cup serving

 
  

