Tags

, ,

I have never had anyone do anything but LOVE these cookies!  They are perfect for me because they do not have any chocolate (although you can make them chocolate by using chocolate cake mix instead of butter).  And they’re small, so you can eat several and not feel too bad about it.  Whether or not you should is a different story.  The recipe I found here says this makes about 2 dozen cookies, but rolling them into walnut size gave me almost 5 dozen.  They also recommend trying different cake flavors, which I have done with coconut cake mix and it was amazing.  Adding coconut flakes dried them out a bit, though.

Gooey Butter Cookies (a Paula Deen recipe)

Ingredients

  • 1 box Duncan Hines butter cake mix
  • 1 egg
  • 1 8oz package cream cheese, softened
  • 1 stick butter, softened
  • 1/4 tsp vanilla extract (I usually use about 1 tsp)
  • confectioners sugar

Directions

Combine all ingredients with electric mixer until well blended. Chill dough for 2 hours. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Roll into balls (about walnut size). Roll balls in powdered sugar. (Tip: if the cookies start getting difficult to roll, stick the dough in the freezer for a few minutes to harden it up a bit.) Bake on ungreased cookie sheet in 350 degree oven for 10 – 12 minutes (mine take 10). Dust with powdered sugar when completely cooled.

My assembly line

My assembly line

Fresh out of the oven

Fresh out of the oven

Paper-plated and ready to go to the neighbors - take care of our cats and I will take care of you :-)

Paper-plated and ready to go to the neighbors – take care of our cats and I will take care of you 🙂

That’s all there is to it.  If I can bake these, anyone can.  Enjoy!

