Tags

,

I feel like it’s been a while since I’ve posted. I’ve been trying to stick to simple meals that don’t require a whole lot of standing time since my feet have really been feeling the effects of my added weight. I also stand for long periods at work sometimes so I try to avoid it at home. Dr. Matthews has been a gem about getting up to get me things and clean up, etc.

Speaking of work, I started a new job at this awesome, locally-owned store called Southern Home and Kitchen, where you can find all the kitchen gadgets you never knew you needed, plus really nice cookware such as Le Creuset and All Clad (which will someday fill my kitchen cupboards). They also host cooking classes and I’ve been learning so much through working those and just learning more about the products they carry. I highly recommend a visit if you’re in the Winston Salem area, especially on Saturdays, when they sample some of their scrumptious edible products.

Today I will share a recipe that does not quite fall under the “not on my feet for long” category, but wasn’t too time-consuming or difficult to make, either: Martha Stewart’s tomato and sausage risotto.

Tomato and Sausage Risotto

Ingredients

  • 1 can (28 ounces) diced tomatoes, in juice 
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil 
  • 3/4 pound sweet or hot Italian sausage, casings removed 
  • 1 small onion, finely chopped 
  • Coarse salt and ground pepper 
  • 1 cup Arborio rice 
  • 1/2 cup dry white wine 
  • 1 bunch flat-leaf spinach (10 to 14 ounces), washed well, tough stems removed, chopped (about 7 cups) 
  • 1/2 cup grated Parmesan cheese, plus more for serving (optional) 
  • 2 tablespoons butter

Directions

  • In a small saucepan, combine tomatoes (with their juice) and 3 cups water. Bring just to a simmer; keep warm over low heat.
  • In a medium saucepan, heat oil over medium. Add sausage and onion; season with salt and pepper. Cook, breaking up sausage with a spoon, until sausage is opaque and onion has softened, 3 to 5 minutes.
  •  Add rice; cook, stirring until well coated, 1 to 2 minutes. Add wine; cook, stirring until absorbed, about 1 minute.

  •  Add about 2 cups hot tomato mixture to rice; simmer over medium-low heat, stirring occasionally, until absorbed, 4 to 5 minutes. Continue adding tomato mixture, 1 cup at a time, waiting for one cup to be absorbed before adding the next, stirring occasionally, until rice is creamy and just tender, about 25 minutes total (you may not have to use all the liquid).

  •  Remove pan from heat. Stir in spinach, Parmesan, and butter; season with salt and pepper. Serve immediately (risotto will thicken as it cools), and sprinkle with additional Parmesan, if desired.

IMG_3680

This was tasty, but the risotto was a little mushy.  If anyone has tips on how to cook the perfect risotto, I’m open to suggestions!  Mine tends to vary each time and I’m not even entirely sure what I’m doing differently.  Methinks this time I didn’t stir often enough…?

I will try to post again before Dr. Matthews and I head up north to visit family and shower baby girl with love (and presents!) but it’s a busy week at work, so no promises!

Not the best pic, but I was hungry and in a hurry to get to the eating part 🙂

 

