Tags

, ,

Today, I will share how I prepared the second of 2 pork tenderloins I got for the price of 1 at Harris Teeter recently (can you tell I’m proud of having snagged this deal?).  This was Dr. Matthews’s favorite of the 2 recipes, and lasted us for quite a few meals (even after I froze some for later!).

Shredded pork tacos

Ingredients

1 lb Pork Tenderloin (mine was almost 3 lbs)
12oz jar of Medium Salsa (to compensate, I used 2 24oz jars of salsa- this may have been a little too much, but made it so we did not have to add additional salsa at the end, which we usually do)
1 Tablespoon Chili Powder (I used about 1-2 tbsp sriracha instead but sprinkled chili powder over the top before cooking)
1 Tablespoon Ground Cumin (I increased to about 2.5 tbsp)
1 Tablespoon Brown Sugar (increased to about 2 tbsp)
1 teaspoon Cayenne Pepper (increased to about 2.5 tsp)
1/2 teaspoon Salt
3 Garlic Cloves, minced (increased to about 5 cloves) 

 
 
Directions
Place pork in a slow cooker.  In a medium bowl, mix all remaining ingredients.  Pour over pork and cook on low for 8 hours.  Remove to a large plate and shred using two forks.  Return to the slow cooker and mix it back into the salsa mixture.
*Note: I do recommend using forks for shredding in this recipe, rather than trying it in the kitchen aid like I normally do.  The consistency of pork prevented it from shredding  properly using that method.
Serve in warmed tortillas topped with cheddar cheese, tomatoes, lettuce and sour cream.

Shredded pork tacos

This is, of course, a Dr. Matthews plate. I prefer mine with tostitos.

