Tags

,

I hope you all enjoyed the guest entry from my favorite MD.  I’d love feedback on whether my readers would like to see more guest entries, or if any of you are interested in doing one for me.  That would be especially helpful come June/July, when I am sure to be doing less cooking and more learning how to deliver and care for a newborn 🙂

Last week I bought 2 for 1 pork tenderloins at Harris Teeter, which I thought was a great deal.  Today, I will share one of the recipes I made and the next entry will detail how I fixed the other tenderloin (spoiler alert: they’re both slow cooker recipes!).

Savory slow cooker pork tenderloin

Ingredients

  • 1 2lb pork tenderloin (mine was almost 3 lbs)
  • 1 1oz envelope Lipton dry onion soup mix
  • 1 cup water (I used about 1.5 cups to compensate for my larger piece of meat)
  • 3/4 cup red wine (I used about 1.5 cups)
  • 3 tbsp minced garlic (I used 4 large cloves)
  • 3 tbsp soy sauce (I used 4)
  • freshly ground black pepper

Directions

Place pork tenderloin in a slow cooker with the contents of the soup packet. Pour water, wine, and soy sauce over the top, turning the pork to coat. Carefully spread garlic over the pork, leaving as much on top of the roast during cooking as possible. Sprinkle with pepper, cover, and cook on low setting for 4 hours. Serve with cooking liquid on the side as au jus.

Savory slow cooker pork tenderloin

Since my tenderloin was almost a full pound more than what was used in the recipe, and I’ve been paranoid about eating under-cooked meat ever since I’ve been pregnant, I actually increased the cooking time for the first time in my life (4.5 hours on low).  I thought it turned out really tender and delicious, anyway, though Dr. Matthews (who prefers his meat almost still breathing) thought it could have used a little less cooking.  He’s probably right, but, like I said, this turned out A-mazing anyway!

Served with broccoli and garlic mashed potatoes

Served with broccoli and garlic mashed potatoes

Random aside, I also found this at the grocery store last week, which was another great culinary highlight of my life:

It's back!

It’s back!

And now, all feels right with the world.  See you next time!

