Tags

, , ,

Happy Thursday, everyone!  I am back to follow up with the recipe to the second meal I made during our family’s visit this past weekend: Crock Pot Creamy Chicken and Noodles.  This recipe came from a blog I stumbled upon some time back, when I first began using a slow cooker.  The writer has not updated the site since 2008, but I wish she would!  Not only did she call herself “The Crockstar,” but she had some great, simple recipes and posted fascinating tidbits from her drama-filled personal life.  The former therapist in me was thoroughly entertained.

Crock Pot Creamy Chicken and Noodles

Ingredients

2 large frozen skinless boneless chicken breasts (I use fresh)
1 can Condensed Cream of Chicken Soup
1 can Condensed Cream of Mushroom Soup
1 small can of Chicken Broth (the whole can of Swanson makes it a little soupy)
Dry Ranch Dressing Mix
4 oz Cream Cheese (I sub sour cream)
Wide Egg Noodles
(I also add a bag of frozen corn, first microwaved, at the end) 
 
 
Directions
Dump the cans of soup into crock pot, stir to combine and sprinkle 1 tbsp of dry ranch over soup mixture. Place the chicken on top of the soup. Sprinkle about 2 more tablespoons of Dry Ranch over the chicken. Turn Crock pot on low for 6-8 hours. (I did low for 5.5 hours). 
 
 
 
Remove chicken from crock pot and shred.  In the meantime, add sour cream to pot and stir to combine (add corn now, if using).  Return chicken to the pot and stir to mix. Add boiled egg noodles to pot or serve mixture on top of noodles.

Photo creds: Dr. Matthews I liked his creative angle on this shot and the suggestion of including apples in your meal.  They are delicious and good for you!

Photo creds: Dr. Matthews
I liked his creative angle on this shot and the suggestion of including apples in your meal. They are delicious and good for you! 

This is before we added the sour cream (which I forgot to do right away) so it doesn't look as creamy as the finished product will.

This is before we added the sour cream (which I forgot to do right away) so it doesn’t look as creamy as the finished product will.

This is a great comfort food meal and is even better with some fresh-ground pepper sprinkled on top!

And, for those of you who are interested, here are a few pics of our family visit:

Our niece, Gwen, with one of her favorite toys- a stick

Our niece, Gwen, with one of her favorite toys- a stick

Our sister, Julie, and her ever-smiling son, Ian

Our sister, Julie, and her ever-smiling son, Ian

Ian and I lounging in our jammies

Ian and me lounging in our jammies

 
