Tags

, , , ,

Cooking is something I enjoy most when I’m feeling “homey,” as in, I want to be in my home doing something to make it a more enjoyable place to be through smells and tastes.  If the lure of warm weather and outdoor activities didn’t dampen this “homey” feeling enough, the process of packing up our place for the upcoming move certainly has squelched it.

I have found that, during our past two moves, there is a period at least a month prior to moving and a month after having moved wherein I feel very unsettled (expectedly so).  Things are everywhere and, even when my surroundings are fairly organized and kitchen gadgets accessible, my mind feels so distracted with anticipation and to-do lists that it’s hard to even concentrate long enough to decide on something to cook.  How do people eat during these times?  Seriously- take-out can get expensive and there aren’t always a lot of fresh options.  When your dishes are packed and you don’t have the time or energy to cook, what do YOU eat?!

That being said, my post today is of a meal I actually made a few weeks ago when our friend, Kevin, was visiting from Chicago.  It’s one of my favorite slow-cooker meals and SUPER easy.  It’s actually one of my favorite meals, in general: BBQ pulled chicken.  Most places, I get pulled pork, but I can make smaller batches with chicken and haven’t done too much venturing into cooking pork as of yet (though not opposed).

BBQ Chicken Sandwiches in the Slow Cooker

Ingredients

  • 3 lb. bag frozen chicken breasts (I generally buy fresh)
  • 1 onion, diced
  • 2 cups of any combo of ketchup or any kind of bbq sauce (clean out the fridge time!) (I don’t use ketchup but usually buy a bottle of whatever BBQ sauce strikes my fancy)
  • 8 oz taco sauce (Not salsa)
  • 2 Tbs. brown sugar (I use a little less)
  • 1 Tbs. dry mustard
  • 2 Tbs. vinegar (I use plain white)
  • 2 Tbs. Worcestershire sauce
  • 1 tsp. oregano
  • 1 tsp. garlic powder
  • 1 tsp. liquid smoke

Instructions

  1. Toss all the ingredients into the slow cooker. You don’t even need to stir. (I stir, but only because I like to 🙂 )
  2. Cook on high for 5-6 hours or low for 7-8. (I do low for 5-6 hours – I’m not sure what kind of slow cookers these people have, but my chicken would be dried the heck out after that amount of time)
  3. Shred the meat and stir it all up. (I sometimes use my Kitchen Aid mixer technique, but for the sandwiches I try to keep from shredding the meat too thin and use forks)
  4. Serve on buns.

 

BBQ Chicken Sandwiches in the Slow Cooker

My favorite is to load it up with Claussen sandwich pickles and serve with salt and vinegar kettle chips!

 

This meal is especially good left over, after the shredded meat has had time to soak up more juices.  It is a great meal to freeze, also.

