Tags

, , , , , ,

Ok people, this is the post that’s going to make you really glad you decided to read this blog (thank you so much for reading, BTW!). The time has come for me to reveal one of the best recipes I’ve ever found. It’s so flavorful, so savory, so easy to make and sure to be a crowd-pleaser. So without further ado, I present slow cooker asian glazed chicken:

Slow Cooker Asian Glazed Chicken

Ingredients:
1/2 cup soy sauce
1/2 cup balsamic vinegar
4 teaspoons sugar
3 cloves garlic, crushed (or 4-5)
1/2 teaspoon ground ginger
1 tablespoon Sriracha hot sauce (more of less, depending on how hot you like it) (I used 1 the first time I made this, then 2 the second. I thought 2 tbsps was perfect- added a little more heat but not too much)
1/2 cup water
3-4 boneless skinless chicken breasts (or thighs) (I used thighs)
2 tablespoons cornstarch
1 tablespoon water
2 tablespoons green onions, finely chopped
1 teaspoon sesame seeds

DSCN2141

Directions:
Spray slow cooker with non-stick cooking spray. Place chicken in crock pot.
Combine soy sauce, balsamic vinegar, sugar, garlic, ginger, hot sauce, and 1/2 cup water in a bowl and pour over chicken. Cook on low for 6-8 hours OR high for 3-4 hours. (I did low for 6)
Once done cooking, pull chicken out and place on large plate. (I like to use my Kitchen Aid mixer to shred chicken, a trick I learned from my friend Ashley.  Sometimes, though, when I’ve got a smaller amount of meat and it seems cumbersome to lug it out, I use forks [see blow].  Dr. Matthews calls this “forkin’ chicken” and will often help if he’s around.  I’ve also found that using a couple of steak knives can be effective.)

Forkin' chicken

Forkin’ chicken

I don't go too crazy on it - it'll break up more once it's back in the sauce

I don’t go too crazy on it – it’ll break up more once it’s back in the sauce

 Mix together cornstarch and 1 tablespoon water in a small bowl and pour into remaining liquid in the slow cooker. Turn heat to high (if it wasn’t already) and cook for another 15 minutes (or until sauce thickens a little bit).
Shred chicken and add back into liquid in slow cooker.
Serve over rice, topped with green onions and sesame seeds.

DSCN2148

There is plenty of sauce to cover the rice and you can really taste the balsamic (of which I’m a big fan). With the rice, this dish is very filling, but still tempting to overeat (of which I’m not so much a fan). But worth it. So worth it.

Even though this is one of my favorite slow cooker meals, it is not THE favorite in our household. Not even top 3. Those will be other posts so please keep reading 🙂

And there you have it. You’re welcome.

DSCN2150

